White Girl Brown Girl

( this is a sarcastic poem on racial stereotypes)

black-and-white-twins-1

Hey There How are you
I am a white girl
I am kinda like you know like
In my shiny white world

I am white girl
When I giggle I am so funny
I like long conversations on my phone
But I mostly like the money

For I am a white girl
I secretly think White people rule
When I flash my black shades and yellow teeth
I think I am so cool

I am a white girl
I know I am curvy and I am big when I am seen
You think I will squeeze and starve myself silly
Just to look like that magazine

I am a white girl
I think I am liberated and free
Yet I dress up just to please the white men around
And maybe hide my misery

Ahem cough hi
I am a brown girl
Trying to survive
In my third world

I am a brown girl
I am lucky I got to school
But I learnt to do all the cooking
For that is what I need to be cool

I am a brown girl
I cover up my beauty
So the men around me can stay pure and sanctimonius
Because it is not safe for brown girls in the city

I am a brown girl
I do my makeup with care
I put all my creme and lotion
To look white when I appear

Brown Girl White Girl
Different problems Different Worlds
One sheds clothes for the men around
One dresses in curtains to pacify the clowns

Author: Ajay Ohri

http://about.me/ajayohri

Any comments?

