buzz

There is a buzz in my ears, I know I am drunk again
I have fallen back to the oldest panacea for a man’s pain
My beer is cold and my snacks are spicy
My attention is short but this TV game is dicy

Clap along if you feel like happiness is the truth
Clap along if you feel like happiness will never belong to you
I know I am a bad boy, and I know I am very good when I am truly bad
This is just the melancholic side of me when I am really sad

I am a mediocre poet and poetry wont pay
I am a good engineer and damn it pays enough for me to afford the beer
This comfort this pampered existence and I wonder
How many poems were lost because I did not torture myself enough

I would never have the courage to blow the whistles
I would never be the one to stand up for the truth
I may never be Hammering Hank Aaron
I will never be the one to point to the stands like Babe Ruth

Still there is a buzz in my ears
And I hope it stays
But we know it wont
As the day and our existence fades away

jd

 

Author: Ajay Ohri

http://about.me/ajayohri

Any comments?

