Traveling Horse

I am sitting on a plane, reading a book

Waiting for my turn to return to earth

I am watching people and they are watching me

Of course we are all polite here, for we are a civilized society

On the road to Santa Fe, there are rodeos to win and lose

While we eat calculated morsels, trying to postpone eternity

I have a budget for money, calories, eyes and my brain

God himself shudders at trying to decrypt my imaginary pain

Even malfunctioning androids fall in love with a randomized thought

Grace may save you but only coffee and a coat keeps you hot

You need two to tango and they bombed Paris to a crisp

They left you no butter to lubricate your imaginary trip

Grace may take you to heaven but she needs a fee in advance

There are no games of skill and there are no games of chance

Pencil and paper are all they allowed you to use

They split your winnings and didnt care when you lose

Superman’s tears are Batman’s wine

Are you okay sir, Yes I am absolutely fine

I am writing this poem, but I am hoping to sell it as a song

An aging sheriff throwing his last Superbowl on broken arm

It was a game of percentages and a coin is all you need to begin again

Very shortly they will find you drunk again in a drain

Then nod and shrug as they set you back on Chrome horse

To ride to the East on a sunset gone from bad to worse

0215160736a

 

 

Author: Ajay Ohri

http://about.me/ajayohri

One thought on “Traveling Horse”

Any comments?

