I am trying

I am trying to be a Happy Indian not a Cowboy in pain

I am trying to be a poet when all they want is fragments of my brain

I am trying to survive in a land I was born to survive without sin

I am trying to be nice while still trying to win

I am listening to songs and atleast music is still free

I am drinking water and they are offering me tea

I am being rational and logical at the same time

I am trying to be a detective without knowing which crime

I am still prone to swings that up and low

I am still proud though I am a bit slow

I am still typing I am still keeping up with the platoon

But if you dont help me soon I will fall down and be a Sunday Cartoon

I am trying to not get shot by a white cop

I am trying to show my hands clear when asked to be at a traffic stop

I am trying to have a conscience when I am still greedy for the hunt

You may be rooting for a home run but I am trying to just give a bunt

I am using light music and chemicals to regulate my neurons

I am still prone to memory lapse when I try to whistle my songs

I am trying too hard for things that are no longer important for you

I am trying to be nice but that is just the thing I like to do

Screenshot from 2016-07-17 18:59:57

 

Author: Ajay Ohri

http://about.me/ajayohri

Any comments?

